RSS

About Me

10 Aug

 

IMG_6590

Welcome to my world! I’m just a regular guy who is enjoying life, extremely happy and I also happen to write books for a living. If you’re looking for the average author draped in a golf shirt that has the smile of a politician, look elsewhere. I’m anything but that. Outside of writing, I’m a man of family, faith and friendship. I’ll take a shirt filled with tribal designs and skulls over a gator logo anytime. I’m big on tattoos, Evanescence and spending time at our family’s countryside getaway. No internet, no distractions and all kinds of time to focus on what’s truly important in life.

I don’t write for money, prestige or any of the ridiculous reasons I’ve heard other writers give. I write for a living because it makes me happy. No amount of money compares to landing a great book review. It lets me know that an idea which spawned inside of my head actually entertained someone else, and that’s an awesome feeling. I offer several free books and if you hate them, you hate them. In the event that you enjoy reading one of the freebies, there are several more to choose from. I appreciate your support of my work, the time you spent checking out my website and the fact that you read. So many people have forgotten how awesome the experience of reading can be. As children, society presses us to use imagination. As adults, society does what it can to force us into growing up and shelving our imagination. My advice, never grow up.

-John

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “About Me

  1. robert eggleton

    July 2, 2014 at 1:51 am

    Are your books selling? In 2006, I created the Lacy Dawn Adventures Project. Three short stories have been published, two in print magazines and one in an electronic magazine. Rarity from the Hollow, my first novel, was published by a short-lived ebook publisher started by the Acquisition Editor for the University of Michigan Library. In 2012, it was reprinted by Dog Horn Publishing located in Leeds. Unfortunately, sales have been poor despite several glowing book reviews and blurbs, including by the Missouri Review, Darrell Bain, Piers Anthony, Barry Hunter, and others. I believe that several factors may have contributed to my lack of success: poor self-promotion skill, mixed genre of the work, book covers that didn’t target a specific audience, lack of advertising funds in the budgets of small presses.

    It is hard to imagine earning a living. My aspiration at this point is to finish the sequel and, assuming continued good health, devote much more time to writing when I retire in a couple of year. Bob

     
  2. johndavisbooks

    July 2, 2014 at 4:10 am

    I’m actually working on a 40+ page short read on promoting work when self-publishing. Yea, sales are solid but Nicholas Sparks isn’t exactly looking over his shoulder just yet. It’s pretty much a mixture of using social media, staying on top of the trends and doing a lot of work, rather than handing it off to a publisher. I’ll let you know when the 40+ pages are available. Thanks, Robert!

     
  3. vetgirl2014

    July 24, 2014 at 9:45 pm

    I also like to write fast paced action type stories, maybe its because I have the attention span of a fish ha ha. I also like your honesty and down-to-earth nature, I have a couple of tattoos as well :) And the isolation of secluded country retreats helps clear the noisy clutter from your mind so the good stuff can bubble to the surface, doesn’t it? … will check out some of your books. :)

     
    • johndavisbooks

      July 25, 2014 at 7:16 pm

      Thanks for the kind words! Taking the time to slow down absolutely helps everything, including writing. Personally, I just hate reading a book that’s 500 pages, with only 100 that really interest me. So I just write those 100 or so :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

