My Newest Addiction

As if I needed one, right? The XFL. Yep, that quirky football league back in 2001 that lasted a single season behind the iron fist of Vince McMahon of the WWE. Still here?

Good, because I’d love to explain how this now defunct football league dragged me back in.

For starters, 2001 was a terrible year of most living in the United States because of the September 11 terrorist attacks. For me(Sept 11 aside) it was a great year. I had the opportunity to marry the woman of my dreams, move into our first place together and take the vacation of a lifetime with several friends. In fact, most of the year was filled with life-moments that I will never forget. And I remember prepping for the XFL launch back then with my soon to be father-in-law, both of us foaming at the mouth in anticipation.

Recently, I got into EBAY(the wife did, and dragged me in with her). After a bit of tinkering, I decided to pull up some XFL memorabilia. I mean EBAY is full of it right? Wrong. There were only a handful of items, which blindsided me. I couldn’t understand why there were more copies of Battlefield Earth than relics from a major professional football league. So I began digging.

The deeper I went, the more I found out it is almost like the XFL didn’t exist. One fan site, a few press releases on its demise and a few YouTube videos. That’s it! And, be it the lack of sleep or need for whiskey, it really affected me. It’s almost as if the greatest year of my life faded away with it. So the scramble was on.

My entire writing desk has been wiped clean of Star Wars, and awaits everything I can find with the XFL logo. Regardless of what people(the few who remember it) think of the league, I enjoyed it greatly. Bartenders and limo drivers playing on TV for five-thousand dollars a game. It was classic! I’ll keep chugging along, buying from EBAY as I go. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll even find the time to post a second fan site of the league that has become my passion outside of writing.

For those who don’t know about the XFL, it was big news that quickly took a backseat following the Sept. 11 attacks, and understandably so. But I’ll be damned if I let terrorists take away the XFL from history!

Leave a Reply

