Falling Skies

images

So, I finally dove in. As my readers may or may not already know, I’m behind the times when it comes to what’s on TV. Part of it is that I write books for a living, and don’t want ideas bouncing around in my head that may influence my work, and part of it is that I’m just so busy. But every now and again, I actually have free time to watch the tube…er flat-screen.

Immediately, as I began diving into the series, two things hit me. Spielberg’s influence was evident and the show was everything the recent show V promised to be. And as a science fiction author, I normally don’t go out of my way to point out the greatness in other science fiction work. I don’t mean that harshly, it just kills me to see something creative that I didn’t think of!

The harness. Wow, to me this is a very original concept, and done perfectly on the show. I also like the mix of mech and flesh aliens, not to mention my attention was captured as I quickly began to wonder why the children? I haven’t made it very far into the series, so if they’ve already revealed that hook, please forgive me. I’m still a bit of a Falling Skies newbie.

In closing, if you haven’t checked this show out before, I highly suggest it. That is if science fiction is your thing. If it isn’t your cup of tea, well, that’s a sickness my friend. My wife is striken with it as well. Though it’s one of my life goals to break her of it and convince her that science fiction can be fun! And Falling Skies may just help push her along. Great show!

3 thoughts on “Falling Skies

Leave a Reply

