With No Regrets

ross-and-rachel-ross-and-rachel-516723-1920-1384

 

So I’m sitting here this week and finally give Friends a try. Yes, I realize it’s been out there for a while and is popular, but that’s how I tend to do things. If it looks like it’s for me, I dive in head first. Otherwise I get to it eventually. Good show, BTW. Thanks to Netflix, I plowed through each season in around five days.

Leading up to the finale, I realized it was going to be about two characters. It always is, isn’t it? One person decides if he/she should lay it on the line and hope the other person feels the same way. It has certainly been that way in my life. Replace the airport with a parking lot and I’ve been Ross a couple of times over.

Watching this show to its conclusion has been an awesome experience. Honestly, I went into it as a lonely writer and came out of it with the realization that I’m exactly where I want to be. In my case, things truly did work out for the best and, better yet, I live without regrets. Because I’ve always chosen to lay it all out there, I’ve felt loss more than once. Relationships. Friendships. Both have crashed and burned because of my honesty above all else. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I’m actually very glad that I finally(FINALLY) caught this show. It’s a show with clever jokes based around a single meaning. Appreciate the things that are in front of you, and I do. Many folks search an entire lifetime for what I’ve been blessed with. I married my soul mate, have two beautiful children and write for a living! How crazy is that? I thank God everyday for the folks who left my life when I pleaded with them to stay. Without their intervention, I wouldn’t be nearly as happy. I also make it a point to thank my entourage each day. Otherwise known as my family. They make me a better human being.

As a side note, Friends led the wife and I to the inevitable Angelina vs. Jennifer conversation. The wife is team Angelina. I, on the other hand, am 100% team Jennifer.

Leave a Reply

