The Wild West

So, I’ve been writing fantasy for the past week or so and have a science fiction project lined up as well. That’s a tall order and even though I keep telling myself one at a time, I can’t seem to stop the ideas from flowing. Over the past few days, I’ve considered(heavily) the idea of writing a western. I know that sounds ridiculous coming from a science fiction guy, but the itch is there and has honestly been there for quite some time now(well over a year). Watching westerns is kind of a guilty pleasure of mine and likewise, I enjoy reading the books. There’s something about a western that is gritty and honest. That appeals to me.

I suppose I don’t bring up my guilty pleasure all that much as there’s a stigma that westerns only appeal to an “old” group of people. Heck, maybe I am old. Then again, maybe the stigma is wrong and lots of us have a desire hidden deep within ourselves to strap on a six-shooter and begin taming the wild hills around us. I’m not sure. What I do know is that each time I read or watch the genre, I can’t help but to get excited about it. That’s a feeling that I would very much love to carry into the world of writing. What do you guys and gals think? Does anyone out there like the genre, or, better yet, write in the genre? I’d love to hear from you.

Who knows, I may just take a six-sided dice and start rolling it each time I settle in to write a book. Science fiction, fantasy, steampunk, western…so many choices!

4 thoughts on “The Wild West

  1. I think you should do it! Who cares about the stigma attached to the western genre. I know lots of younger people who like them, and Tombstone is my all-time favorite movie! Besides, it’s something you love! Go for it!

Leave a Reply

