The eBook Gold Rush is Over

W_CO_History8_Gold_Rush2

Amazon Kindle authors circa 2011

At last, the eBook Gold Rush is over. In case you haven’t heard the news, paper books are once again surging in popularity while eBooks have apparently hit a sharp decline. The message boards on KDP are filled with authors who’ve “had enough”. They’re packing it up and calling it quits in search of the next fast money market. Meanwhile, us authors remain.

Upon talking a walk through the graveyard (otherwise known as Nook Press), I can confirm that sales are down across the board for most of the authors I know. The bubble has burst and I, for one, am glad to see it.

women-children-wide.jpg

Amazon Kindle authors circa 2016.

You see, I was never in this for the money. In fact, during the height of eBook sales I was still eating Spam sandwiches. The authors you see leaving (in droves, I might add) weren’t here for the best of reasons. This is about providing stories for readers to sink their teeth into, while allowing them to escape the real world for a few hours. Not getting rich. If you’re writing with money as your #1 motivation – shame on you. Writing was never designed to make anyone rich. Sure, some of the big fish in the profession are eating better cuts of Spam than I am, but it’s because they write with pure joy as their motivation. Lots of writing (and reading) spawns better writing and, with time, that brings success.

Happy trails to those who dashed in, grabbed what money they could and bolted off to the land of whatever market promises the next pile of gold. It’s 2016 and I’m still standing. God willing, I’ll be here for another 40 years or more. And to the readers who’ve stuck around and supported me – thank you. I’ve clawed my way from newbie writer to a pretty good author, thanks to you (and a great editor)!

JD

5 thoughts on “The eBook Gold Rush is Over

  1. I know this would be perhaps stepping outside the line but would you be kind enough to have a look here on my blog too? It’s this little effort named: theidlerinrapture.wordpress.com. I’d really appreciate your feedback or any tips that you can provide. Thanks in advance.

    ~ A fellow blogger.

  2. Thankfully, here’s hoping that writers will offer paperback ) or hardcover) editions of their work. I’ve seen far too many ‘writers’ opt to offer e-book format only. This leads me to assume that they assume everyone has a reader. That’s just not the case. I’m one of those that doesn’t have one, and I prefer to have a physical copy of a book. The other side of this is that more and more, I see this trend- someone buys an e-copy and then they upload it to a P2P site or free-download site and BAM! The writer loses money because people can get a copy for free. This isn’t fair to the writer. Plus, it’s thievery / stealing and that’s just plain wrong.

    People have told me “the odds of that happening are blah, blah, blah, it won’t happen to you. So, get over it.” The fact is that it does happen and it could happen to anyone.

      • You’d better :: wink, nudge :: because like my sister I’m fond of and prefer having a book in hand. I favor hardcovers but I do understand that producing them is more costly than paperbacks. For my own works I plan to release both digital and paperback as they’re released. Once the full collection is out then I’ll fin and work with a company for hard cover boxed set. This is also an idea I suggest to my fellow writers working on series and collections. As I tell them “think of it as a ‘collectors edition'”

Leave a Reply

