I’m still alive.

It was touch and go for a while, though. No seriously, I was in the hospital awaiting a test that determined a variety of things, some of which were terminal. It was by far the longest 30 minute wait of my life. I’m glad to report that I should live, though it’ll be a rough few months.

Anyhow, some of you may have noticed that I’ve not been all that active on social media as of late. Beyond Twitter, I don’t plan to be on social media anymore. As I lay there thinking about everything (hospitals will make you do that), I realized that every minute online is a minute I could have spent with my family – a minute that I’ll never get back. Twitter is vital to earning a paycheck when it comes to writing. The rest of it isn’t.

I’ve always tried to speak from the heart. Yep, at times that’s gotten me into trouble, but I don’t regret who I am. I also don’t regret the choices I’ve made or the people I’ve met along the way. I have several friends out there (you know who you are) that are still, and will always be important to me. Even with thousands of miles between us. That said, I’m at a point in my life where I’m extremely grateful for the people I’m surrounded by and this whole ordeal has me 100% focused on faith and family. So this isn’t to slight anyone out there.

In closing, I’ll likely be on Twitter until I’m dead or until Twitter flips the switch. I enjoy speaking my mind in a handful of words and then getting on with my day. I’m not a hard guy to find online, and if any of my long distance friends are reading this, I won’t have a problem finding you, either. I carry each one of you with me wherever I go. The mind is a wonderful place.

-JD (my new jam: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WxvJwL9Xg4)

Leave a Reply

