I’ve made it to the other side

I’ve reached a very important milestone in the profession of writing. Brace yourself, it’s likely the first time you’ve ever heard an author say it. I don’t care if my work is selling or not. I no longer log into my publishing accounts and click away like some sort of trained monkey. Do I hope that readers enjoy what I’m writing? Of course I do. I put my heart and soul into each offering and I hope that it shows. But striving to be rich, or famous, or even comfortable enough to no longer stress over money/sales? To hell with it. I’ve been on the low end of the stick for so long that it doesn’t matter to me at this point.

Something amazing happened when I reached this point. A new world of creative freedom was born inside of me. Now, I get to write what I want to, and that’s a pretty amazing feeling.

Leave a Reply

